Writing a Book in Two Languages

Even though English is my second language, I imagine and write my books in English. When I finish the book, I review the plot and edit it as best as I can.

Once I am satisfied with the plot and the book is readable, I translate it to Spanish using Google translate. The result is good but muddy. The end result is sometimes readable and sometimes it makes stupid mistakes, like confusing a negative with a positive. However, it helps immensely by translating very fast and providing a scaffolding, and it is better every time I use it. I edit the translation trying to replace literal translations with comparable meaning. I use Spanish from Mexico.

I edit the Spanish translation and then I do a paragraph by paragraph, side by side comparison between the English and the Spanish versions. Thus I find errors in both languages, polish discrepancies and correct the structure of the paragraphs.

I then read and edit the book in English, then I do the same in Spanish and then I do a second paragraph by paragraph comparison.

Thus I have written seven books:

The History of the 21st Century                La Historia del Siglo 21

Practical Artificial Intelligence                   Inteligencia Artificial Práctica

The series: living dangerously in utopia   La serie: viviendo peligrosamente en la utopía

The War of the Classes                              La Guerra de las Clases

The Preponderant Factor                          El Factor Preponderante

It is all in the Mind                                      Todo seta en la Mente

The Restlessness                                         La Inquietud

Y:                                                                     And:

A Criminal with Ethics                                 Un Criminal con Ética

You can find more information at: http://www.alpha0books.com

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment